South Carroll Special School District


In other business:

•Longtime board member Philip Moore was presented with a plaque in recognition of his many years of service on the board. Moore did not seek re-election in the Aug. 6 general elections.

•New board members Nick Cobb and Donna McDaniel Cox were welcomed onto the board.


•The board passed a new policy regarding the Families First Coronavirus Response Act. This policy states that staff members don’t have to use sick days to receive paid leave while quarantining due to the coronavirus, and it includes provisions for other virus-related situations.

•A resolution was passed authorizing the emergency suspension of board policies during the 2020-21 school year as necessitated by the developing COVID-19 situation and permitted by the state.

•The board was advised that the Sept. 29 TSBA fall district meeting will be conducted virtually.

•Upcoming opportunities for school board member training were discussed.

•The recent resignation of sixth grade teacher Jarett Cavness was acknowledged.

•The board acknowledged the recent employment of sixth grade teacher Brittany Flowers, fourth grade teacher Ella Taylor, and teacher assistants Abbie Hooton and Kim Huey.

•The 2020-21 substitute teacher list was approved.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here